If you have a teen in New York that is considering getting a license, you’ll want to consider quite a few things before getting them out on the road. Once they reach the age of sixteen, they are able to apply for a learner’s permit. The application be signed by a parent and include proof of residency, a form of ID and a social security card. The applicant will also need to pass a driver’s text which covers the basics of traffic signs and driving laws.
Once a teen has a learner’s permit they are only allowed to drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. In New York City, the driver must be supervised by a parent or instructor and the vehicle must have controls for the driver and supervisor.
Once a teen driver has a permit for six months, then they can apply for a junior driver’s license. The application must be signed by a parent and include a driving log with 50 hours of supervised driving time including 15 hours of night driving. The teen also has to complete a pre-licensing course which must be included with the application. Once the application is completed, the driving test is taken so they can receive a junior license.
With a junior licence, they are able to drive between 5 am and 9 pm and with documentation can drive after hours for work or school. In New York City, junior license holders are not permitted to drive. Once a teen is 17 years old, they are able to apply for an unrestricted license, otherwise one is given once they reach 18 years old.
Importance of Insurance
Before anyone can drive in New York, it is mandatory that the vehicle must be insured. New York requires residual liability insurance, personal injury protection, and uninsured coverage. It is required that all drivers have liability insurance and include fatality coverage as well as personal injury protection. The liability insurance minimums are as follows:
-$10,000 for property damage for a single accident
-$25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death for a person involved in an accident
-$50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death for two or more people in an accident
It is imperative that you register your vehicle with the DMV within 180 days of your insurance start date. You’ll need to bring a copy of your insurance card to register your vehicle and keep one copy in your vehicle at all times. It is important that you have this in your vehicle as anyone driving your car will need to provide proof of insurance while they are diving.
Contact Us Today!
If you have a teen who is nearing the age they can start to drive, it’s important they get a proper education of the rules and regulations of driving in New York as well as have the proper insurance coverage to do so. We want to make sure your teens are safe and covered, so reach out to Willoughby Insurance in Buffalo, NY today!